Sarasota Criminal Defense Attorney
Sarasota Criminal Defense Lawyer Attorney Profiles Criminal Defense En EspaƱol Contact Us
Fill out a free case evaluation now! Read helpful information on our blog
Criminal Defense
Appeals
Narcotic Equipment and Paraphernalia
Bond Reduction
Driving with a Suspended License
Drug Offenses
DUI
No Valid Driver's License
Fraud
Property Crimes
Juvenile Defense
Sex Crimes
Violent Crimes
Probation Violations
Florida Gun Law
Illegal Phone Recording
Family Law and Divorce

Blog Posts in October, 2012

My probation officer told me that I violated my probation (VOP'd), should I quit probation and stop going to appointments and completing terms?

Absolutely not! The state has the burden to prove that an alleged probation violation was both willful and substantial. For instance, if you violated because you did not pay court costs, and you have ...
Continue reading "My probation officer told me that I violated my probation (VOP'd), should I quit probation and stop going to appointments and completing terms?" »

Should I testify in my case in Florida?

When you are represented by an attorney in your criminal case, the attorney has a large amount of control over how to proceed with your defense. A good attorney will always listen and try to proceed ...
Continue reading "Should I testify in my case in Florida?" »

Can my child be charged as an adult in Florida?

Under Florida law it possible for a juvenile who is 14 or older to be charged as an adult. In legal terms, it is known as "direct filing". The decision whether or not to direct file a charge ...
Continue reading "Can my child be charged as an adult in Florida?" »

Can I be charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license (DWLS) in Florida if I am caught driving a scooter or motorized bike?

Florida law states that: "Any person whose driver's license or driving privilege has been canceled, suspended, or revoked… who, knowing of such cancellation, suspension, or revocation, ...
Continue reading "Can I be charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license (DWLS) in Florida if I am caught driving a scooter or motorized bike?" »

What does a "$0 bond" mean for a criminal charge in Sarasota County, Florida?

In Sarasota County, when a person has a "$0 bond" they in reality have no bond at all--they cannot bond. Certain charges will have a standard bond of $0 set upon arrest. ( Click here for ...
Continue reading "What does a "$0 bond" mean for a criminal charge in Sarasota County, Florida?" »

Will I get arrested and go to jail at my pre-trial conference court date?

We get asked quite frequently if people get arrested and go to jail at pre-trial conference for a misdemeanor charge in Sarasota County. The answer is generally, no. It is possible, though. Generally ...
Continue reading "Will I get arrested and go to jail at my pre-trial conference court date?" »

Can a polygraph exam (lie detector test) be used against me in Florida?

The answer, as usual, is it depends. Polygraphs cannot be used in court. Florida case law is clear that a polygraph is never admissible in court because it has not been shown to pass stringent enough ...
Continue reading "Can a polygraph exam (lie detector test) be used against me in Florida?" »

Can I be charged with possession of controlled substance if I have a prescription in Florida?

In Florida, it is illegal to possess any controlled substance without a prescription. Having a prescription can be a defense to this charge depending on the substance. If you are charged with ...
Continue reading "Can I be charged with possession of controlled substance if I have a prescription in Florida?" »
Attorney Website Design The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

Address: 2170 Main Street, Suite 103, Sarasota FL 34237